The Police – Outlandos d’Amour

ImageThe Police are a band that I thought I would never get into. I’ve always known their radio songs and if I hear “Message In A Bottle” one more time I think I’m gonna explode.  It is only recently that I am realizing the genius of The Police. What I like about The Police’s first album is the stripped down nature of it. It has much more punk influence then any of their follow up records and the fact that this album came out in 1978 is pretty amazing to me. They fused a couple genres together and their influence is still heavily prevalent, just look at all the shitty ska music that has followed since.

This is no way a perfect album and in many ways it is kind of flawed but the really good songs make up for the cheesy or average songs. “Next To You” is an alright song. It has an old time rock and roll feel and the chorus is ok. I guess thats what I have to say about that song, it kind of sounds like filler to me. Andy Summers has a killer slide guitar solo which gives the track some legs. So Lonely” is just an amazing song, perfectly crafted and executed. The vocal harmonies are amazing at the begging and it is very catchy. For me the stand out element to the song has to be the drums though. Stuart Copeland throws in these insane of timing fills, specifically right before the chorus. His work on the high hat symbol is also incredible, you can here the time and effort he put into his drums. The chorus is amazing in this song again utilizing a similar harmony as they did in the pre-chorus. It is a pop song but a totally creative and daring one.

I’ve heard “Roxanne” probably a hundred times thanks to shitty classic rock radio stations. It sucks because that just made me so sickImage of the song, but besides that it is another amazing song. Copeland is again shining through with his drumming finesse. The guitar chords are also great, Summers had such good use of jazz chords and minor chords. I haven’t really talked about Sting that much yet but I feel he’s had enough credit towards him and the other guys deserve to be held at a high regard just as much as he does.

“Hole In My LIfe” is becoming one of my favorite songs on the album. Summers has this jazz type thing going on with the guitar while Copeland is doing this crazy slowed down half time type thing on the drums. It is off setting but clicks so well. It is a much underrated police song and deserves more attention then it gets. Copeland is just a wizard at the drums and this song is a great way to prove it. “Peanuts” is a cool, very new wave, song. It is very straight forward but effective and is very catchy. The Police were such an effective trio, they would leave so much space on the recordings so each instrument would stick out. This is great because the listener can really hear each members great musicianship.

Image“Can’t Stand Losing You” is another masterpiece song. Summers chords in the beginning are just great. I think the best part of the song has to be the pre chorus, when the vocal harmonies kick in. It is just so catchy to me. Again Summers and Copeland are contradicting in rhythm until the chorus kicks in and they sync up again. The way they would shift the key of the chorus and harmonies sounds amazing and it is just really catchy. Anyone who likes evolved punk music or just higher echelon musicianship should definitely check out this early effort. They were still a young band trying to find their niche but that is why the album is so great.

Leave a comment